The stresses and strains

The move was exhausting and I came down with a nasty cold to top it off. The dust from opening all those packing boxes, that rundown and tired feeling and the fact it was the end of teaching (always used to get a cold at the start of the hols) meant it came as no surprise but it made post-move life even harder as all I really wanted to do was go to bed.

The first few days after the move were surreal, but at least I had my husband at home for a few days so we managed to get quite a bit of unpacking done and have a functioning living room and kitchen at least. However once he went back to work, the test really began.

As well as the cold, my aches and pains flared up and I suddenly had a three-year old to entertain almost full-time. Thankfully my parents were really brilliant and helped keep my son entertained and me sane, but I really didn’t expect to feel quite so stressed and shattered as I did. This move has been the toughest ever, due to having a child to care for.

My son is cute and funny but is also highly skilled in pushing my buttons in a way that non of my PRU kids never could. To be fair to him, this has been such an upheaval for him and he has been very unsettled but I do wish he was a little less clingy and would stop talking about bottoms all the time (loudly, so our new neighbours can here..)

I dragged my rundown body with a three year old attached to my leg, through the first few weeks after the move. Then came the time to introduce my son to his new nursery which was pretty traumatic initially. On his second visit I warned him an hour or so before that we would be going and he cried solidly for the hour, right up until five minutes after I left nursery when apparently he was absolutely fine. I think it’s worse because he is only going two mornings each week. Had he been going everyday I think he would be totally settled by now. But that’s not compatible with my freelance (no money yet) life right now.

But the cold has gone and my son played on his own today without needing me sitting next to him, so hopefully we are turning a corner.

Leave a comment